

Daylight saving time. Although daylight saving time had been urged in many quarters before World War I, its first use in Canada came as a federal war measure in 1918. Today most provinces have legislation controlling the provincial or municipal adoption (or rejection) of daylight saving time; in the other provinces the authority is left to the municipalities. By general agreement, daylight saving time, where it is observed, is in force for six months from the last Sunday in April until the last Sunday in October.

Public land 1.4

The total area of Canada and areas of the individual provinces and territories are classified by tenure in Table 1.8. All lands, with the exception of those privately owned or in process of alienation, are Crown lands under the jurisdiction of either the federal or the provincial governments.

Federal public land. Public lands under the administration of the federal government comprise lands in the Northwest Territories including the Arctic archipelago and the islands in Hudson Strait, Hudson Bay, James Bay and Ungava Bay, lands in the Yukon Territory, ordnance and admiralty lands, national parks and national historic parks and sites, forest experiment stations, experimental farms, Indian reserves and, in general, all public lands held by the several departments of the federal government for various purposes connected with federal administration. These lands are administered under the Territorial Lands Act (RSC 1970, c.T-6) and the Public Lands Grants Act (RSC 1970, c.P-29).

The largest areas under federal jurisdiction are in the Northwest Territories and the Yukon Territory where only 93 sq miles (241 km²) of a total area of